For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

Mizoram: C. Lalmuanthanga sworn in as new CEM of Lai Council

03:09 PM May 15, 2024 IST | NE NOW NEWS
UpdateAt: 03:09 PM May 15, 2024 IST
mizoram  c  lalmuanthanga sworn in as new cem of lai council
C. Lalmuanthanga sworn in as new CEM of Lai Council

Aizawl: Congress leader C. Lalmuanthanga was on Tuesday sworn in as the new Chief Executive Member (CEM) of the Lai Autonomous District Council (LADC).

He will head the Congress-Mizo National Front (MNF) coalition government in the 25-member Lai council, which is headquartered in south Mizoram’s Lawngtlai town.

Lawngtlai deputy commissioner Cheemala Siva Gopal Reddy administered the oath of office and secrecy to Lalmuanthanga during a swearing-in ceremony held at the council hall.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by three legislators Dr Lorrain Lalpekliana Chinzah (Zoram People’s Movement) (ZPM), C. Ngunlianchunga (Congress) and Robert Romawia Royte (MNF).

LADC is one of the three ADCs constituted under the sixth schedule of the constitution for Lai people in the southern part of the state.

The council, previously headed by the MNF, was placed under the governor's rule on 15 March as no party could garner a majority after the incumbent Chief Executive Member V. Zirsanga resigned on March 7 just before a few minutes of a floor test against his government.

Before this, eight MNF members, who defected from the party, tied up with five members from Congress, BJP and independent members and submitted a complaint to the governor citing no confidence in the Zirsanga-led council.

The 13 opposition members, including 8 MNF members, claimed that they have no more confidence in Zirsanga's government as the CEM was convicted in a graft case.

In February, the special court (Prevention of Corruption Act) in Aizawl sentenced Zirsanga to four years imprisonment and imposed a fine of Rs. 4 lakh for misappropriating Rs. 1.33 crore during his stint as an executive member of the council.

After the resignation of Zirsanga, one of the 8 MNF members joined Zirsanga’s camp again thus making a situation where no single party could garner the magic number to rule.

Both the ruling and opposition camps have 12 members each with the resignation of Lorrain Lalpekliana Chinzah after his election to the state legislature.

On May 1, 12 MNF members joined forces with the lone Congress member, C. Lalmuanthanga, to form the United Legislature Party (ULP).

The newly formed coalition presented its claim to Governor Hari Babu Kamphampati to run the council the same day.

The governor approved the claim and appointed C. Lalmuanthanga as the CEM on May 7.