For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

Assam’s Riyan Parag along with three others receive maiden T20I call-ups

06:37 PM Jun 24, 2024 IST | NE NOW NEWS
UpdateAt: 06:37 PM Jun 24, 2024 IST
assam’s riyan parag along with three others receive maiden t20i call ups
Riyan Parag (File Image)

Guwahati: The Board for Control Of Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday officially announced the squad for the upcoming Zimbabwe series, scheduled to begin on July 6.

India will play five T20I matches against Zimbabwe starting from July 6.

Advertisement Advertisement

Assam’s Riyan Parag, Punjab’s Abhishek Sharma, Hyderabad’s Nitish Kumar Reddy and Mumbai’s Tushar Deshpande have earned their maiden call-up in the Indian team.

Dhurv Jurel who is also part of the squad earned his first T20I selection, earlier he was selected to play for India in the test matches.

Shubman Gill has been appointed the Indian captain for the tour of Zimbabwe post the T20 World Cup 2024 as the BCCI announced the squad on Monday evening.

Riyan has been with the Rajasthan Royals team in the Indian Premier League and after years of underperformance, Riyan was promoted to number four in 2024.

This resulted in an amazing performance from Royan and he scored 573 runs in 16 matches at an average of 52.09, a strike rate of over 149 and four half-centuries.

His best score was 84 not out.

Riyan’s consistent batting was one of the key reasons behind RR’s qualification to the playoffs.

India’s squad for the tour of Zimbabwe:

?hubman Gill (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Abhishek Sharma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (WK), Dhruv Jurel (WK), Nitish Reddy, Riyan Parag, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Khaleel Ahmed, Mukesh Kumar, Tushar Deshpande.